Fiji Health & Nutrition Cluster

ABOUT THE CLUSTER

The Fiji Health and Nutrition Cluster (HnN C) was formed in 2012 and is responsible in providing effective and efficient service to the people of Fiji before, during and after natural disasters.

Goal of HnN Cluster

To reduce avoidable mortality, morbidity and disability, and restore the delivery of, and equitable access to, preventive and curative health and nutrition services as quickly as possible and in as sustainable a manner as possible.

Objectives of HnN Cluster

The objective of the HnN Cluster is to plan and implement proportionate, appropriate and timely health and nutrition responses in humanitarian crisis situations which will address both the immediate needs of the affected populations. This will be achieved through providing predictable, systematic and country-driven services, and includes the need to:

  1. Increase participation of cluster partners and donors / Strengthen Coordination with non HnN Cluster partner health providers / MoHMS thematic groups;
  2. Conduct HnN Cluster Contingency planning / develop plan to predict, prevent and respond to new emergencies / deterioration of the current humanitarian situation;
  3. Develop HnN Cluster strategy and action plan to respond to the priority emergency health and nutrition hazards and risks;
  4. Define geographical and thematic Structure of the cluster, roles of the partners / update HnN Cluster ToR;
  5. Develop and operationalize HnN Cluster advocacy strategy to inform humanitarian community, donors, relevant authorities about priority health issues and strengthen resource mobilization for the health sector with the aim to have identified problems tackled/solved;
  6. Develop and operationalize systems for monitoring HnN Cluster joint response/ Develop systems for aggregating and analyzing cluster partner data;
  7. Define and agree on Health and Nutrition sector priorities and standards;
  8. Capacity Building in project design and management;
  9. Facilitate effective sharing of information among agencies and organizations, including local organizations and local government partners involved in health and nutrition response efforts, preparedness and recovery;
  10. Ensure adequate health and nutrition contingency and preparedness planning and support Cluster members to provide timely response during emergencies;
  11. Ensure coordination of the emergency health and nutrition programs and activities among the partners engaged in emergency response including non-members and local partners;
  12. Address disruption in the provision of existing government services during emergencies and liaise accordingly with government partners;
  13. Ensure early recovery planning as well as prevention and risk reduction concerns are addressed and incorporated where possible at all stages of emergency planning and response; and
  14. Liaise and coordinate with other Clusters as required.

Partners in the Health and Nutrition Cluster work to jointly assess and analyse information, prioritize the interventions, build an evidence-based strategy and action plan, monitor the health situation and the health sector response, adapt/re-plan as necessary, mobilize resources and advocate for humanitarian health action.

Lead Agency: MoHMS – Ministry of Health & Medical Services 

  • Chairperson for the Health & Nutrition Cluster:
    • Dr. Eric Rafai, Deputy Secretary, Public Health
    • Email: eric.rafai@govnet.gov.fj | Phone: 9904145
  • Coordinator/Secretary:
    • Mr. Vimal Deo, National Heath Emergency & Disaster Management Coordinator
    • Email: vimal.deo@health.gov.fj | Phone: 9904131

Co-Lead Agencies:

Cluster Partners / Meeting Participants:

[Note: Where available, the links below go to organization sites that give information on the partners’ response to TC Winston.]

Next Meeting: National Health & Nutrition Cluster meeting on 29th March 2017, Wednesday, 10 AM, Main Conference Room, MoHMS.

Calendar of Meetings and Other Events

Core Cluster Information Products

activity_reporting_100px_icon_bluebox

4W

product_type_table_100px_icon_bluebox

Contact List

product_type_report_100px_icon_bluebox

Cluster Bulletin

Reference Materials

product_type_map_100px_icon_bluebox

Maps

product_type_data_100px_bluebox

Key Documents

product_type_document_100px_bluebox

Related Sites

Any questions, comments or suggestions regarding the Health & Nutrition Cluster webpages? Please email hnclusterfiji@gmail.com.

Sub-cluster Working Groups

The Health & Nutrition Cluster consists of the following seven sub-working groups.

Sub-Cluster Chair/s Designation Mobile Phone Email
1. Clinical Services Dr. Luisa Cikamatana Deputy Secretary Hospital Services  9906947 lcikamatana@health.gov.fj
Dr. Jemesa  MS – CWM Hospital 3313444 jemesa.tudravu@health.gov.fj
2. Nutrition Maca Rokomalani NA Dietetics 9275725 maca.rokomalani@govnet.gov.fj
Ateca Kama Manager – NFNC 9768625 ateca.kama@yahoo.com
3. Public Health Intervention
(Surveillance & Response)
Dr Mike Kama National Advisor Communicable Disease mike.kama@health.gov.fj
Dr Devina Nand  Epidemiologist dr.devinanand@gmail.com
Dip Chand Chief Health Inspector – Lead WASH Cluster 3215198  8905051 dip.chand@govnet.gov.fj
4. Family Health Dr Torika N. Tamani National Advisor Family Health 9906944 t.tamani@health.gov.fj
5. Medical Supplies & Resources Apolosi Vosanibola Chief Pharmacist 3388000 apolosi.vosanibola@govnet.gov.fj
Director – FPBS 3388000
6. Communication Anshoo Chandra Media Liaison Officer 3314988 anshoo.chandra@govnet.gov.fj
Sunil Chandra Media Liaison Officer 3314988 sunil.chandra@health.gov.fj
7. Psycho-social Support & Mental Health Dr Nirvana Karan Acting National Advisor, Mental Health nirvana_karan@hotmail.com
Infrastructure and Other Issues Dr Eric Rafai Deputy Secretary Public Health 3306177 eric.rafai@govnet.gov.fj
Vimal Deo National Coordinator Health Emergencies & Disaster Management 3306177 vimal.deo@health.gov.fj;
vimal24deo@yahoo.com